The College of Fellows fulfills a variety of salient functions within APT. Overall, the college advises the Board of Directors on issues regarding the advancement of philosophy and practice of preservation technology. Members of the college serve on committees or in other capacities, as needed. 

The College of Fellows honors those APT members who have provided valuable services to the preservation field and to APT. Each year at the APT annual conference the College of Fellows inducts up to six new members.

The College of Fellows Jury, which consists of five members, reviews the nominations and elects those for invitation to the fellowship.  The jury, a committee of the College of Fellows, includes three Fellows selected by the College, one member-at-Large, and one member of the Board of Directors selected by the APT President with the approval of the Board of Directors.

A special thank you to APT's 2003 College of Fellows member, François LeBlanc for preparing a tribute to APTi and NTC Pioneers from Canada’s National Capital Region for the 2017 APT/NTC Joint Conference.


Welcome to the New 2016 Class of Fellows

Ron W. Anthony
Ron is recognized internationally as a leading practitioner in the applications of nondestructive methods in the evaluation of existing buildings and materials. He is especially noted for his drive and dedication though continual contributions to the advancement of wood science applications and in particular, those efforts directed at topics related to preservation technology. Ron has advocated for APT around the world and has made many significant contributions to APT’s success by serving as a Board member, an ongoing contributor to the “Bulletin” resulting in receiving in 2009 the Martin E. Weaver Award, as well as being both instructor and lecturer in numinous APT conferences and workshops.



Randall J. Biallis, AIA, Hon ASLA
We Randy has been involved in historic preservation since the beginning of the efforts to professionalize the movement in this country and currently serves as the longest tenured NPS Chief Historical Architect (25 years) and Program Manager for the Park Historic Structures and Cultural Landscape Program. Randy has been a behind-the-scenes leader always pushing the limits in advancing new preservation technologies and programs. Randy was mentored by the famed National Park Service Historical Architect Charles E. Peterson (founding member and first President of APT) who personally invited him to become a member in 1969. This began Randy’s involvement over the next 47 years with APT, the Washington Chapter of APT and later the US National Park Service’s partnerships with both APT and the AIA’s Historic Resources Committee.




Jonathan C. Spodek, FAIA
Jonathan’s combination of architectural practice, academic teaching and research has enabled him to develop a twin legacy towards preservation technology. As an early pioneering scholar in the field of non-destructive evaluation and as an educator focusing on preservation technology to nearly a generation of young architects who are reflecting his passion for preservation as a key element towards the vitality and sustainability of a community. His impact particularly comes to light in his efforts to expand upon the area of practical applications of preservation through his activities on numerous educational and professional committees. Most notably representing the AIA’s HABS committee both as a member and chair in its supporting of the Charles E. Peterson Prize.




Anne T. Sullivan, FAIA
Anne’s contributions to the field of preservation technology are primary, but not solely, in the history – she refers to herself as a “Historic Materials Historian,” in addition to being a preservation architect. She has dedicated herself to the study to the study of historic materials and technology, especially concrete. She then applies this expertise in the realms of academia, practice and service to our profession. Anne has excelled in providing leadership to APT as a Board member with at various times duties responsible for publications, membership, service on the Executive Committee and finally as APT’s President.