APT awards recognize excellence in the development and dissemination of preservation technology.

The Harley J. McKee Award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of preservation technology.  First presented in 1985, this award is named for the late Harley J. McKee (1905-1976), the second president of APT, and a Professor of Architecture, most remembered for his 21-year teaching career at Syracuse University.

The David Fischetti Award is presented by the Preservation Engineering Technical Committee for an outstanding article that advances the field of conservation engineering. First presented in 2018, this award is named for the late David Fischetti (1946-2011), a structural engineer with outstanding contributions to preservation engineering and a longtime member of APT.

The APT Publications Committee presents three awards to authors of APT Bulletin articles. The Oliver Torrey Fuller Award recognizes the year's best Bulletin article on preservation technology.  First presented in 1985, this award was created to recognize the article that best demonstrates technical excellence and innovation published in the APT Bulletin during the year in which the award is conferred. Fuller was instrumental in planning the meeting of preservation leaders from the U.S. and Canada at Stanley House in Québec in 1968 that led to the founding of APT.  The Anne de Fort-Menares Award recognizes the article that best demonstrates excellence in the application of historical research to preservation practice published in the APT Bulletin during the year in which the award is conferred. First presented in 1997, this award was named in honor of the late Anne de Fort-Menares to recognize her many contributions to APT and her dedication to historical research.  The Martin E. Weaver Award recognizes the article that best demonstrates excellence in the history of technology, training, and education in historic preservation, or in the investigation and treatment of wood in historic buildings and artifacts. This award was created in 2008 to honor the memory of Martin E. Weaver, an architect, architectural conservator, and former APT President. Weaver was a noted historic preservation lecturer and taught at Columbia University from 1991-2004.

The Lee Nelson Award heralds the best book-length work on preservation technology. The award was established in 2000 to recognize outstanding and influential books in the field of preservation technology. This award is a tribute to the late Lee Nelson, an outstanding preservationist, APT founder, and long-time editor of the APT Bulletin. It is conferred every three years. 

APT is party to a four-way agreement to award the Charles E. Peterson Prize each year.  Our partners are The AIA Historic Resources Committee, The Athenaeum of Philadelphia, and The Heritage Documentation Programs (National Park Service.) The Prize recognizes the best set of measured drawings prepared to Heritage Documentation Programs standards. 

The Dean Koga Prize provides a $2,000 award to a student, emerging professional, or apprentice who proposes a project to enhance dissemination of technical preservation knowledge. Fundable projects could be presentations, online products, videos, publications, or others intended to share technology within and beyond APT. The application process is simple, and we encourage creative applications.

Art Femenella Sr., a leader in historic window and stained glass restoration for over fifty years, had an impactful presence in APT and the preservation community and passed away in 2022. Art was a mentor to everyone he encountered, and he freely shared his time and expertise to train colleagues and younger professionals. To honor Art’s legacy, and to honor the mentorship that APT considers so important in the development of our students, emerging professionals, and all members, APT has developed the Arthur J. Femenella Sr. Award for Distinguished Mentorship to recognize outstanding mentorship in the preservation field. It is conferred every three years.

As many as 12 APT members participate in multidisciplinary, international juries for these awards. Communication among jury members is generally carried out by e-mail. Contact APT if you wish to volunteer to serve on an awards jury.