Standing Committees

The Association for Preservation Technology has 19 committees (including technical committees), which are responsible for developing APT's strategic plan and overseeing the execution of its activities. These committees, most of which are composed of members of the Board of Directors and other APT members, usually meet at the annual conference and at the semi-annual board meeting and communicate regularly between these meetings.

Committee chairs are appointed each year by the president, and all members serve on a volunteer basis. APT members who wish to find out more about a particular committee or participate in its activities are invited to contact the APT President outlining their interest.

Bylaws, Policy and Ethics
Partnerships and Outreach
Professional Recognition
Student Scholarships and Outreach
Training and Education


Executive Committee

Chaired by the president, the Executive Committee consists of elected officers and other members appointed by the president; APT's administrative director is an ex-officio member of the committee. 

The committee meets monthly by teleconference to assess the organization's progress on strategic objectives, review upcoming program plans, and carry out other APT business in between the semi-annual board meetings. Other APT committees report to the Executive Committee on a monthly basis by email or fax. 

Kitty Vieth, President
Gina Crevello, Vice President
Natalie Feinberg-Lopez, Vice President
James Shepherd, Treasurer
Paul Kuenstner,  Executive Director

Back to Top

Bylaws, Policy and Ethics Committee

The Bylaws, Policy and Ethics Committee advises the Board of Directors on all matters pertaining to bylaws, policy and ethical conduct pertaining to the administration of the Association.  The committee reviews the bylaws and policies of the association on an annual basis and reports the results to the board of directors or the general membership.

Michael Lynch, Bylaws, Policy and Ethics Committee Chair

Back to Top

Chapters Committee

APT has active chapters in many regions. Chapters play a critical part in carrying out APT's mission to advance the application of technology to the conservation of the built environment. Chapters also provide local preservationists opportunities to interact with other professionals in the field through chapter-sponsored social gatherings, tours, and seminars on topics of regional interest. 

The Chapters Committee, which meets bi-monthly via conference calls and at the semi-annual Board meetings, facilitates communications between the chapters and APT. The Committee participates in Membership Committee meetings. 

Liaisons from the chapters include: Stefan Cieslik (Alberta), William Hockey (Atlantic Canada), Donald Ellsmore (Australia), Sarah Holder (Central Plains), Ari Seraphin (Delaware Valley), Cheryl Early (Eastern Great Lakes), (European), Barbara Shideler (Hawaii), Claudia Rodriguez Espinosa (Latin America), Chris Dabek (Northeast), Brian Rich (Northwest), Scott Drake (Ohio Valley), Susan Ross (Ottawa/Outaouais), Lena Buchinger/Alexandre Savignet (Québec), Jessica Reske (Rocky Mountain), Trish Smith (Southeast), Doris Eichburg (Texas), Bryan Fisher (Washington, D.C.), Payal Vora (Western), Jamie Clapper Morris (Western Great Lakes). 

Our primary objectives include the initiation of additional chapters and the creation of stronger student involvement in the chapters. 

Lena Buchinger, Chapters Committee Co-Chair
Claudia Rodriquez, Chapters Committee Co-Chair
Greta Wilhelm, Chapters Committee Co-Chair

Back to Top

Conferences Committee

The APT Conferences Committee is charged with identifying venues and supporting each Local Conference Committee (LCC) for APT's Annual Conference. The APT Conferences Committee typically schedules each Annual Conference three years in advance by identifying a LCC Chair and destination. The city and host venue are selected two years in advance. 

The APT Conferences Committee provides general oversight to ensure that each conference maintains a high level of quality while providing an ample supply of local flavor. 

The APT Conferences Committee also monitors APT participation in and support of other APT-sponsored conferences that might be scheduled throughout the year. 

Jill Gotthelf, Conferences Committee Co-Chair
Lyles McBratney, Conferences Committee Co-Chair

Back to Top

Development Committee

The Development Committee oversees APT’s fundraising efforts to ensure a coordinated and consistent approach.  The fundraising efforts are focused on national sponsorships for the annual conference and funding for the student scholarship program.

Gina Crevello, Development Committee Co-Chair
Art Femenella, Development Committee Co-Chair

Back to Top

Membership Committee

James Banta, Membership Committee Co-Chair
Kristen Craig, Membership Committee Co-Chair

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is appointed by the President after each annual general meeting. The committee is composed of two members from the general APT membership and one member of the Board of Directors, who serves as the chair. The Nominating Committee advises the Board on all matters relating to the composition of the Board and recommends members to serve on the Board as officers. This committee also oversees elections. 

Nominating Committee Chair 

Back to Top

Partnerships and Outreach Committee

The Partnerships & Outreach Committee develops and stewards partnerships with like-minded organizations to better preserve our built environment.  APT can share sound preservation technology practices more widely by collaborating with other organizations and institutions through mutually beneficial partnerships. The Partnerships & Outreach Committee also supports other APT committees in their partnerships with outside organizations.

Caterina Giovaninni, Partnerships and Outreach Committee Co-Chair
Annabelle Radcliffe-Trenner, Partnerships and Outreach Committee Co-Chair
Taryn Williams, Partnerships and Outreach Committee Co-Chair

Back to Top

Professional Recognition

The Standing Committee on Professional Recognition develops requirements and reviews applications for the APT Professional Recognition Program.  Appointed by the APT President, the Committee is led by a chair from the College of Fellows and is composed of two members each from the College of Fellows, APT Board, and general membership. 

Ronald Staley, Committee Chair

Back to Top

Publications Committee

The Publications Committee is responsible for overseeing APT's goal of publishing and delivering high-quality publications, including the APT Bulletin, the Communiqué, social media, videos and the APT website. The Publications Committee also oversees APT's publication-related awards. 

Cristina Radu, Publications Committee Co-Chair
Justin Spivey, Publications Committee Co-Chair

Back to Top 

Student Scholarships and Outreach Committee

The Student Scholarships Committee oversees the granting of scholarships to students who have submitted outstanding abstracts for presentation at APT's annual conference. 

Elaine Shapiro, Student Scholarships and Outreach Committee Co-Chair
Christina Wallace, Student Scholarships and Outreach Committee Co-Chair

Back to Top

Training and Education Committee

Training Programs for Annual Conference Subcommittee 

This subcommittee works with local conference committees and the APT Conferences Committee to develop training programs for the annual conferences and with chapters and others to identify, develop, and disseminate high-quality content programs. The subcommittee also investigates alternative delivery systems, cooperates with other groups, and recommends action to the APT Board.

Stefan Cieslik, Training and Education Committee Co-Chair
Natalie Feinberg-Lopez, Training and Education Committee Co-Chair
Erin Fisher, Training and Education Committee Co-Chair

More on Training and Education

Back to Top